Connecticut legislative leaders expected to remain unchanged

Published 11-08-2018

0 Ratings

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) - The leadership of the Connecticut General Assembly will be familiar next year.

All top Democratic and Republican leaders are expected to hold the same positions when the new legislative session begins in January.

Senate Democrats on Thursday unanimously re-elected Senate President Pro Tempore Martin Looney of New Haven and Senate Majority Leader Bob Duff of Norwalk to lead their caucus. Speaker of the House Joe Aresimowicz (ehr-eh-SIM'-oh-wits) of Berlin and House Majority Leader Matt Ritter of Hartford are expected keep their same leadership roles as well.

Aresimowicz, however, faces a recount in his close race for re-election. Initial results show he leads his Republican challenger Michael Gagliardi by 37 votes.

Republicans are again backing House Minority Leader Themis Klarides (THEHM'-his KLEHR'-ih-dehs) and Senate Minority Leader Len Fasano as their leaders.

No comments found. Sign up or Login to rate and review content.